Birthday Freebies!

August 10, 2009 at 2:16 pm (Freebies) (, , , , , , , )

Mr. Frugalicious and I celebrated our birthdays last week, and I wanted to take advantage of as many freebies as possible. However, Mr. Frugalicious is the shy, retiring type, and he doesn’t like to spread the word about his birthday. I, on the other hand, think my birthday should be a national holiday.

The best birthday freebie out there right now is free admission to Disneyland. That’s right…a free day in the magical kingdom! (This offer is also good at Walt Disney World, for my East Coast friends.) In order to take advantage of this freebie, you need to sign up in advance. And you can only get in free on the day of your birthday in 2009. This posed a bit of a problem for us, since Mr. Frugalicious had his birthday on Monday, while mine was Tuesday. So, we ended up having to pay for his admission, but it was still worth it to spend a day at the happiest place on earth. Plus, some friends had a free parking pass, so we didn’t even have to pay the $12 to park in the Mickey & Friends lot. And I loved celebrating my birthday at Disneyland. I got a big “Happy Birthday” button to wear, and all the Disney cast members (as well as some complete strangers) wished me a happy birthday when they saw it. It made me feel very special, because I love to be the center of attention.

That night, we met some friends for dinner at PF Chang’s at Anaheim’s GardenWalk. I love PF Chang’s but they need to work on their birthday freebies. All I got was a mini dessert, which was, like, two bites of chocolate. The waiter did at least put a candle in it.

Although my birthday is over, the birthday freebies haven’t stopped. I found a great online resource called Hey, It’s Free!, which offers an extensive list of birthday freebies. I signed up for the Coldstone Creamery Birthday Club and got an email coupon for a free birthday creation. Best of all, it’s valid for a couple of weeks. And I love teppanyaki-style dining, so I was excited to join the Chef’s Table at Benihana. I got a $30 coupon to use anytime until August 31.

What are  your favorite birthday freebies? Please share!

Leave a Reply

